Cambridge International Examinations (CIE)

Cambridge Assessment and Cambridge International Examinations (CIE)

Cambridge Assessment is a not-for profit organization that develops and delivers a diverse set of assessments, qualifications and tests for learners of all age-groups worldwide. The assessments are offered by three exam boards; Cambridge International Examinations (CIE) is one of them. CIE provides international educational programmes and qualifications for 5-19 year olds in 160 countries across 9 regions that include North America, Latin America, UK, Europe, Middle East and North Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, North Asia, South Asia, and Southeast Asia & Pacific.

The Cambridge Programme comprises Cambridge Primary (Age Range- 5-11 years), Cambridge Secondary 1 (Age Range- 11-14 years), Cambridge Secondary 2 (Age Range- 14-16 years) and Cambridge Advanced (Age Range- 16-19 years).

Cambridge curriculum and assessments foster the development of Cambridge learners who-

  • Accept readily the intellectual challenges and radiate confidence while communicating. They work in a structured manner on ideas and adopt a critical and analytical way to evaluate ideas and arguments.
  • Assume responsibility towards themselves and others.
  • Develop the ability and strategies through self-motivation to acquire knowledge and skills throughout their life.
  • Are innovative and resourceful while applying acquired skills to deal with unfamiliar situation and novel problems.
  • Are always keen on learning new skills which can make them a significant part of knowledge economy. A positive influence on the society can be attributed to their intellectual approach and engagement.

Cambridge qualifications are internationally acclaimed and accepted in universities, including the top-tier ones, across the globe.

At Mayoor, CIE Secondary 1 programme is implemented in one section of Grade VI to VIII. (Rest of the sections follow CBSE curriculum)

International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE)

Cambridge IGCSE is an international qualification offered under Cambridge Secondary 2 programme. At Mayoor, IGCSE curriculum is implemented in grade IX and X, the final exams for which are held in May/June and October/November at the completion of the two-year programme. A student qualifying IGCSE successfully is eligible to pursue any +two level qualification like intermediate level offered under CBSE, CISCE curriculum or any national or international pre-university programme like the International Baccalaureate (IB) diploma or Cambridge A/AS level.

IGCSE curriculum includes a wide variety of subjects. Many subjects offer a choice between core curriculum and extended curriculum. Core curriculum gives an overview of the subject and is suitable for students expected to achieve the grades C to G. Extended curriculum is challenging and gives specialised knowledge about the subject. It is suitable for students expected to reach the grades A* to C. IGCSE offers a flexible course of study which is supported by availability of resources and training of high academic standards.

The assessment takes place at the end of the course following which the students receive grades benchmarked against internationally recognized grades- A* to G. Assessment includes testing of coursework knowledge, practical skills, oral and written skills.

IGCSE certificate is awarded to a student who attempts and passes a minimum of 5 subjects and International Certificate of Education (ICE) is awarded to a student who attempts and passes 7 or more subjects.

Grade A or above in 5 subjects and Grade C or above in 2 subjects
Grade C or above in 5 subjects and Grade F or above in 2 subjects
Grade G or above in 7 subjects    

Grade A or above in 5 subjects and Grade C or above in 2 subjects Distinction Grade C or above in 5 subjects and Grade F or above in 2 subjects Merit Grade G or above in 7 subjects Pass

Subjects covered under IGCSE curriculum at Mayoor include

  • Languages : English, Hindi
  • Mathematics
  • Sciences : Physics, Chemistry, Biology
  • Humanities : Geography, Economics/History
  • Creative & Vocational : Art & Design/Physical Education/Information and Communication Technology (ICT)

IGCSE curriculum propels the learner towards carrying out intensive research about a topic and puts critical thinking skills to test. It opens new avenues for application of knowledge for solving contemporary real-world problems. For non-native speakers of English, Cambridge IGCSE English Language qualification shows the competency levels required in English language to get admission in leading universities around the world or enhance employment prospects.